History
Research Databases
Research databases | Selected Websites
-
ArchiveGrid
Provides access to nearly a million descriptions of detailed archival collections held by libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.
-
Historical Minneapolis Tribune
Digitized and indexed editions of the Minneapolis Morning Tribune 1867-1922 complete with all major news, feature and advertising sections.
-
Historical New York Times
Digitized and indexed editions of the New York Times 1851-2008, complete with all major news, feature and advertising sections.
-
Minnesota Reflections
A collection of over 116,000 Minnesota history images, maps, and documents shared by cultural heritage organizations across the state.
Selected Websites
Research databases | Selected Websites
General
-
American Memory
Primary sources
-
American Rhetoric
Hundreds of famous speeches in text, audio and/or video format
-
Costume Gallery
History of costume and fashion.
-
Historical United States Census Data Browser
.
-
How Much Is That?
The cost-of-living down through the ages.
-
Index to Minnesota History magazine
The Library carries this publication.
-
INFOPLEASE
Try this for timelines.
-
Making of America
Good for primary source material. Excellent search capacity.
-
Minnesota Historical Society
.
-
Minnesota Reflections
Images from Minnesota history.
-
MN Video Vault
Decades of great public TV broadcasts on Minnesota history and more.
-
National Archives and Records Admnistration [NARA]
Good overview of U.S. government historical records. Useful for genealogists and researchers.
-
Our Documents
Actual text of 100 milestone documents in American history. Good primary source material.









