Careers & Employment
Research Databases
Research databases | Selected Websites
-
JobNow!
A real-time career advice resource that helps job seekers pinpoint their desired career field and work with coaches to write resumes, cover letters, and prepare for interviews. Sessions can be conducted in English or Spanish.
-
Testing & Education Reference Center
A resource for people preparing for common academic and vocational/licensing tests, including the ACT, ASVAB, GED, postal worker and real estate exams. Also includes a career library and resume builder.
Selected Websites
Research databases | Selected Websites
Career Planning
-
America's CareerInfoNet
Find employment trends, occupational requirements, labor market conditions and more here.
-
Minnesota Unemployed Career Resources
Offers links to many local resources for unemployed Minnesotans.
-
O*net On-Line
Interactive database of occupational information.
-
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Outlook on various jobs and job markets.
-
The Riley Guide
Lists many online sites and services that are useful for your job search
-
What Color Is Your Parachute?
Reviews of online job resources and links to them.
Jobsearch sites - National/International
-
CareerBuilder
Search for national and international job postings and maintain records of your job search.
-
CareerOneStop
CareerOneStop is a U.S. Department of Labor-sponsored Web site that offers career resources and workforce information to job seekers, students, businesses, and workforce professionals.
-
Employment Guide
Focus is on hourly and skilled jobs, from entry-level to mid-management employment opportunities.
-
Indeed
Indeed is a worldwide job search site. Indeed is available in more than 50 countries and 26 languages.
-
Monster.com
Interactive database for listing and locating job opportunities.
-
US.jobs - National Labor Exchange
U.S.A. job search engine. This site is offered as a public service by leading US Employers.
Jobsearch sites - Part-Time/Summer Positions
-
GrooveJob
Find Part-Time, Hourly, Seasonal & Student Jobs. Also includes some job searching tools and tips.
-
Snag a Job
Search for part-time and hourly positions.
-
Summer Jobs
A resource for finding summer jobs and seasonal staff positions with camps, amusement parks, resorts, national parks, hotels, environmental organizations and more.
Volunteer Opportunities
-
Hands on Twin Cities
A source for volunteerism in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St Paul.
-
Minnesota Senior Corps
The Senior Corps is a network of more than half a million seniors (55+) who are making a difference through the three programs of the Senior Corps, the Senior Companion Program, the RSVP Program, and the Foster Grandparent Program.
-
VolunteerMatch Directory
VolunteerMatch allows users to match their skills and available time to the needs in their communities.
Internships
-
InternJobs.com
An on-line recruitment network for internships.
Jobsearch sites - Local
-
ISEEK
Search for jobs, education/training opportunities, and business information.
-
Minnesota Works
Local job searches with resume posting.
-
Star Tribune's WorkAvenue
Local newspaper's classifieds (searchable) & can post resumes.
-
State of Minnesota: The official site for State of Minnesota government careers.
Find state job listings, application forms and more here.
Salary/Wage & Benefit Information
-
Minnesota Salary Survey
Find wage information for occupations in Minnesota.
-
Minnesota Unemployment Benefits
The official resource for information about Minnesota Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits.
-
Salary.com
Has salary ranges for jobs in the U.S. and has information on the compensation market.
Interviewing
-
Quintessential Careers: Job Interviewing Resources
This site is a guide to interviewing resources. It has types of interviews, traditional questions, do's and don'ts, questions for you to ask and more.
Cover Letters, Resumes
-
Rebecca Smith's eResumes & Resources
Online tutorials for electronic resumes & cover letters.
-
Resume Writing & Cover Letters from About.com
Resume writing, sample resumes, resume builders and cover letters for resumes.
Jobsearch sites - Government
-
USA Jobs
Has listings of current government jobs, tips on applying, & online applications.










