Geography & Travel
Selected Websites
U.S. Geography
-
50States.com
Click the state you're interested in for quick access to a variety of state specific facts and other useful information!
-
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Places
Contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural features in the U.S.
-
United States Geography - Info Please
Find U.S. maps, information about longitude and latitude, rivers, mountains, elevation, geographic extremes, geography quizzes and more.
U.S. Travel Information
-
Americas Byways
National scenic byways. Presented by the US Department of Transportation.
-
Discover America
DiscoverAmerica.com is the official travel and tourism website for the USA. It includes trip ideas, travel photos, visa and customs requirements, flight and hotel information and much more.
-
Explore Minnesota
Minnesota tourism information provided by the State of Minnesota.
-
Free Travel Guides
Free Travel Information from states or tourism sights.
-
Roadside America
Tourist attractions & oddities.
-
U.S. National Parks
This site is provided by the National Parks Service, a bureau of the US Department of the Interior. Information is provided about the parks, their history, and care. In addition, you may locate information about visiting a national park, and make reservations.
-
USA City Link
Information about most cities within the United States, which can be accessed by city name or by state. This site provides travel and relocation information.
World Geography
-
Asia Society
Asia Society is the leading educational organization dedicated to promoting mutual understanding and strengthening partnerships among peoples, leaders and institutions of Asia and the United States in a global context. Across the fields of arts, business, culture, education, and policy, the Society provides insight, generates ideas, and promotes collaboration to address present challenges and create a shared future.
-
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Provided by the Library of Congress.
-
National Geographic
The National Geographic Society has been inspiring people to care about the planet since 1888. It is one of the largest nonprofit scientific and educational institutions in the world. Its interests include geography, archaeology and natural science, and the promotion of environmental and historical conservation.
-
State Department Background Notes
Country Information provided by the United States Department of State.
-
World Clock – Time Zones
Times for major cities in each time zone, plus additional calculators to personalize time search.
-
World Factbook
World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Prepared by the CIA (Central Intelligence Agency) of the United States Government.
Travel Planning
-
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Travel health information.
-
Federal Aviation Administration
Flight Delay Information.
-
Mn/DOT Traveler Information Service
"511" service provides information to travelers on weather-related road conditions, construction, and congestion.
-
Passport Home Page
Application for a U.S. Passport.
-
SeatGuru
Airline seating charts.
-
Transportation Security Administration (TSA)
Safety guidelines for air travel -- includes lists of prohibited items.
-
Travel Information
Free Travel brochures, vacation guides, maps, and travel planning kits.
-
U.S. State Department Travel Services
Information for U.S. Citizens Travelling abroad. Information for foreign Citizens trying to obtain a Visa to enter the United States.
-
WorldWeb.com Travel
WorldWeb.com is the world's leading travel search engine and directory.
-
Yelp
Worldwide cities guide with reviews and recommendations.
Maps - etc.
-
Education Place--Outline Maps
These maps may be printed and copied for personal or classroom use.
-
How far is it?
Find out the distance between (almost) any two places in the world. Can be displayed in miles , kilometers, light years, nautical miles, fathoms, etc.
-
Mapquest
Maps and directions.
-
National Atlas
Create custom U.S. maps with Map Maker. National Atlas of the United States is a website of the US Department of the Interior.
-
National Geographic Society - Maps
National Geographic Society collection of world maps & online atlas. Includes interactive maps.
-
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
The PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps and is managed by the University of Texas Libraries.
-
Time in many time zones
US Naval Observatory clock.
-
World Atlas
Atlas of the world. Will answer questions about maps, geography and travel.
World Travel Information
-
Fodor's Travel Intelligence
Fodor's Travel Intelligence provides information about popular travel destinations around the world. Fodor's publishes a series of travel guides.
-
Frommer's Travel Guides
Frommers.com is an online destination guide for those planning travel excursions. Frommers.com visitors find candid, timely articles written by Frommers.com experts, read excerpts from and purchase Frommer's Guidebooks, while gaining additional insights from message boards. Provides travel products that can be purchased from their booking partners.
-
Lonely Planet Travel Guides
Travel advice, tips, and destination information. At Lonely Planet we tell it like it is, without fear or favour. If you read something written by a Lonely Planet author, you can guarantee they've been there, had a look for themselves and are telling you what they really think.
-
Tripadvisor
Traveler reviews & opinions.
Travel Accommodations
-
Hostel Handbook
A directory for hostels of all affiliations in the United States and Canada, plus information about staying in hostels and traveling cheaply.
-
Hostelling International
Search and book hostels around the world. HI is a non-profit membership organisation, with a proud history and a relevant philosophy. For us, HI hostels are much more than just a place to stay. They are about discovering new places, learning about new cultures and making lifelong friendships.
-
InnKeeper
TheInnkeeper.com is a comprehensive worldwide listing of bed and breakfasts, country inns, guest houses, lodges, cabins, historic hotels, small resorts, guest ranches, farmhouse accommodations, and working farm and ranch vacations.
-
Restaurant Row
Search over 190,000 restaurant listings in over 13,000 cities worldwide.
-
Roadfood
Most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America.
Traveling with Children
-
MomsMinivan
Car travel games & road trip ideas for kids.








