Language & Writing
Research Databases
Research databases | Selected Websites
-
Transparent Language Online with byki
A language-learning online resource that builds listening, reading, speaking, and writing skills. More than 80 languages are available, as well as ESL for Spanish, Arabic, Portuguese, Korean, Chinese, and Japanese speakers.
**Create a username and password to get started**
Selected Websites
Research databases | Selected Websites
Other Language Resources
-
A Basic Guide to ASL
Combines text, graphics, and animations to provide sign definitions for letters, numbers and many common terms.
General Sites
-
AmericanRhetoric.com
Hundreds of famous speeches in text, audio and/or video format.
-
Bartleby.com Great Books Online
Search dictionaries, thesauri, English usage, encyclopedias, quotation books, Elements of Style and more reference works.
-
OneLook Reverse Dictionary
Enter a concept (such as "green fruit" or "urge to travel") and get back a list of words and phrases related to that concept. Great for solving crossword puzzles!
-
The Word Spy
Devoted to recently coined words and phrases, old words that are being used in new ways, and existing words that have enjoyed a recent renaissance.
Foreign Language Instruction
-
BBC Languages
Free lessons and resources for learning Spanish, French, German, and Italian, as well as limited reources for a few other languages.
-
How to Learn any Language
Information and resources on teaching yourself foreign languages.
Tools for Students
-
Citing Sources
Duke University guide to citing sources in a variety of formats: MLA, APA, Chicago and Turabian. Also includes citations for electronic sources.
-
Cliche Finder
Have you been searching for just the right cliche to use? Cliche Finder can help.
-
WorksCited4U
Workscited4U automatically compiles MLA formatted bibliographies.
Dictionary and Thesauri
-
Dictionary.com
.
-
OneLook Dictionaries
.
-
Thesaurus.com
.
-
Thinkmap Visual Thesaurus
.
-
WriteExpress Online Rhyming Dictionary
.
-
YourDictionary.com
.
ESL Resources
-
English as a Second Language
A comprehensive and well organized ESL Web directory. A good starting point for ESL learners who want to learn English through the Web.
-
ESL Resources
Purdue University web site that offers resources for ESL students such as handouts, quizzes, questions, internet links and other helpful information.
Foreign Language Resources
-
Ethnologue, Languages of the World
Comprehensive database of the world's languages featuring language data, language maps, and other resources.
-
I Love Languages
A comprehensive catalog of over 4,200 hand-picked language-related Internet resources.
-
Livemocha
The world's largest online language learning community.
-
Omniglot
Provides a guide to over 200 different alphabets, syllabaries and other writing systems (like hieroglyphics, cuneiform etc. etc.), plus links to further resources.
Grammar Guides
-
Jack Lynch's Guide to Grammar and Style
A miscellany of grammatical rules and explanations, comments on style, and suggestions on usage.
-
Purdue's Online Writing Lab
Over 500 pages of handouts, tutorials, and workshops, plus hundreds of links to other writings resources across the web. An excellent grammar and punctuation resource!
-
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
An easy-to-use reference guide to proper English grammar and punctuation.
-
University of Chicago - Grammar Resources on the Web
A listing of on-line resources on grammar, usage, English as a Second Language, and gender-neutral language.
Comprehensive Sites
-
Legal Information Institute
Legal information like court opinions, Constitution, codes, etc.








