Health & Medicine
Research Databases
Research databases | Selected Websites
-
Alt Health Watch
Offering full-text articles from more than 180 international journals and reports, this resource focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
-
Consumer Health Complete
A resource to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
-
Health Source: Consumer Edition
A reference resource that provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines, pamphlets, as well as over 130 health reference books and nearly 10,000 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English & Spanish).
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
A resource that provides access to 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, including strong coverage of nursing and allied health.
-
Medline
An index of millions of records covering all areas of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.
Selected Websites
Research databases | Selected Websites
Doctors
-
AMA (American Medical Association) DoctorFinder
Directory of all licensed doctors, including non-AMA member doctors.
-
American Board of Medical Specialties
Directory of Board Certified Specialists. Check to see if your specialist is board certified and why certification matters.
-
Medical Complaint Boards
Provides contact information by State. Information provided by Consumers Checkbook. Provides the ability to file a complaint.
-
Minnesota Board of Medical Practice
Lists Minnesota doctors that have had disciplinary actions taken against them. Click on the 'Search Professional Profile' button to find information on a specific doctor.
Mental Health
-
American Association of Suicidology
Dedicated to the understanding and prevention of suicide. The home page provides links to Crisis Centers, Survivor of Suicide Support Groups, and a Suicide Prevention Lifeline.
-
Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance
Depression and bipolar disorder can be isolating illnesses, but DBSA support groups can help you connect with others who have been there as well. Visit a DBSA support group and get the support that is essential to recovery.
-
Mental Health America
Non-profit organization addressing all aspects of mental health and mental illness.
-
National Institute of Mental Health
The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure. A government sponsored website providing information and referrals for those suffering from mental illness and those researching this area.
Drug Information
-
Best buy drugs from Consumer Reports
Reports on categories of drugs & their generic alternatives, such as ACE inhibitors. From the nonprofit Consumers Union.
-
Drug Evaluation and Research
U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
-
Medline Plus drug information
Information on thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications. A service of the National Library of Medicine.
-
Safe Medications
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists guide to your medications, when to take them, how to take them, and what to expect.
-
Together Rx Access Program
Sponsored by a group of pharmaceutical firms, this program offers a discount card for prescription drugs to those who qualify.
Hospitals Clinics and Providers
-
Best Hospitals
Each year U.S. News magazine ranks U.S. hospitals. Use this site to find a "top" hospital by specialty or geographic area.
-
Health Grades
Private company that offers quality ratings for hospitals, hospices, nursing homes, & other health institutions.
-
Minnesota Health Scores
Nonprofit site that reports quality measurements for health care providers.
-
Minnesota Network of Hospice and Palliative Care
MNHPC lists hospice and palliative care provider members in both rural and metro areas of Minnesota.
Patient Help Sites
-
Bridge to Benefits - Children's Defense Fund Minnesota
Minnesota low-cost or free health care directory.
-
Directory of Health Organizations
Toll-free numbers for over 300 organizations provided by the US Department of Health and Human Services.
-
Quackwatch
Quackwatch is an international non-profit network of people concerned about health-related frauds, myths, fads, and fallacies.
Cancer
-
Cancer Care
Free, professional support services for anyone affected by cancer.
-
National Cancer Institute
Cancer Information Center. National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
General Health and Medicine
-
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides fact sheets, disease prevention information, and health topics from A to Z, health data and statistics.
-
Minnesota Department of Health
Minnesota health information, statistics, and information on obtaining birth, death, and paternity certificates.
-
Minnesota Health Care Programs
Application and renewal forms for programs within the State of Minnesota.
-
Minnesota Health Information
A guide to health care quality & cost in Minnesota, provided by the Minnesota Department of Health.
-
PubMed, index of magazine articles
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
-
The New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine is the oldest continuously published medical periodical, completing its second century of service to the medical community in 2012. Subscriptions are available, but a large volume of data is available for free.
-
World Health Organization
Provides information on global health risks and precautions.
Fitness and Nutrition
-
Choose My Plate
MyPlate illustrates the five food groups that are the building blocks for a healthy diet using a familiar image—a place setting for a meal. CNPP and the Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) are agencies of USDA's Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services.
-
Nutrition.gov
Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.
A service of the National Agricultural Library, USDA.
Statistics
-
FastStats - Assembled by Center for Disease Control
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
-
State Health Facts Online
Offers state comparisons plus individual state profiles. Sponsered by the Kaiser Family Foundation.
-
World Health Organization - Global Health Observatory
Statistics from the WHO of the United Nations.
Diseases and Conditions
-
Flu.gov
Flu.gov provides one-stop access to U.S. Government seasonal, H1N1 (swine), H5N1 (bird), H3N2, and pandemic flu information. A federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services .
-
Health Topics A-Z
Articles from the National Institutes of Health, an organization dedicated to researching health issues and providing information to the public and healthcare professionals.
-
Healthfinder.gov
A government Web site where you will find current information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy. A Federal Government Web site managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
healthfinder.gov is sponsored by the National Health Information Center -
Mayo Clinic Health Site
Provides health care and disease information.
-
WebMDHealth
News and articles on medical topics. Includes a Symptom Checker where information can be obtained based on the symptoms experienced.
Children's Health
-
HealthyChildren.org
Information on raising a healthy child from the American Academy of Pediatrics.
-
KidsHealth
Provides families with accurate, up-to-date, and jargon-free health data.
Laboratory Tests and Procedures
-
Lab Tests Online
Explains clinical lab testing
Dentistry
-
Minnesota Dental Association
Tools & resources to help consumers & professionals in every aspect of dentistry.
-
MouthHealthy.org
Information from the American Dental Association for caring for your teeth and mouth.
-
National Institute of Dental & Craniofacial Research
Information, clinical trials, news, reports, research, and training.
Alternative and Complementary Medicine
-
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
We conduct and support research and provide information about complementary health products and practices. National Institutes of Health, US Department of Health & Human Services.
-
Naturopathic Medicine
Explains naturopathic medicine, and offers referrals to practitioners. American Association of Naturopathic Physicians.
-
University of Minnesota Center for Spirituality and Healing
Explains complementary therapies and healing practices. Created by the Center for Spirituality & Healing and the Life Science Foundation.













