All Anoka County libraries will close at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, November 25th, and be closed on Thursday, November 26th and Friday, November 27th for Thanksgiving.

(Default: Search:)

Books & Reading

Research Databases

  • OneClickdigital

    A database with thousands of downloadable fiction and nonfiction audiobooks for teens and adults.

    **You must create an account to use this service.  Download Media Manager software to a personal computer to be able to transfer books directly to a portable listening device with one click**

  • Overdrive

    A service for downloading thousands of eBooks and audiobooks to your computer, e-book reader or mobile device.  Fiction and nonfiction titles available for children, teens, and adults.

    **Available to Anoka County and Columbia Heights residents with a valid library card**

  • WorldCat

    A searchable catalog of books, web resources and other materials worldwide.

Selected Websites



  • All About Romance

    Book reviews, book lists, message boards and more for lovers of romantic fiction.

  • Romantic Times Book Club

    Magazine for lovers of romance, mystery & women's fiction featuring news, reviews and interviews.

General Sites

  • All Readers

    Detailed book reviews from all genres searchable by plot, style, character, and setting.

  • Book Page

    Monthly publication offering interviews with favorite authors, book reviews in all categories, and book news.

  • BookBrowse

    Excerpts, reviews and more from the best current books.

  • BookSpot

    Well-organized links to the best book reviews, reading lists, awards, news, online texts, and more.

  • IndieBound

    Features lists of independent bookseller-recommended favorite handsells and bestseller lists. Formerly BookSense.

  • Morton Grove Public Library Reading Lists

    Great collection of reading recommendations from the well-known online discussion group Fiction-L.

  • Overbooked

    Book list, author information and web links specializing in literary and genre fiction.


  • ATN (All Together Now) Book Lists

    A copious number of book lists for children, grouped by genre, theme, values and more.

  • Caldecott Medal Winners

    Listing of Caldecott Winners, an award given to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

  • Kids' Booklists

    A group of booklists grouped by school grade (maintained by Multnomah County Library).

  • Lexile Framework for Reading

    Search tens of thousands of titles for their Lexile measure or search by Lexile measure.

  • Newbery Medal Winners

    Listing of the Newbery Medal award winners, an award given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


  • Based On The Book

    Mid-Continent Public Library's 'Based on the Book' is a compilation of over 1,250 books, novels, short stories, and plays that have been made into motion pictures.

Book Groups/Book Discussions

Book News


    Author profiles, book reviews, feature articles, book quizzes, contests and a free weekly newsletter. Check out the Coming Soon section for info on new releases.

  • Publishers Weekly

    News, reviews and the latest in book and publishing news.

Inspirational Fiction

Science Fiction/Fantasy

  • Fantastic Fiction

    Bibliographies, links and more for over 6,000 science fiction, fantasy and horror authors.

  • Locus Online

    Features news, reviews, resources, and perspectives of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Includes the Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards

  • SF Site

    Book reviews, opinion pieces, author interviews, fiction excerpts, and links to all things SF.

Social Networking for Readers

  • Good Reads

    Members recommend books, compare what they are reading, keep track of what they've read and would like to read, form book clubs and much more.


    Catalog your books online. Connect with other readers for recommendations and discussion!

Award Winners

  • Great Books List

    Collection of Great Books lists--authoritative attempts to list the group of books consistently rated as great by readers and critics down through the generations.

  • Pulitzer Prize winners

    Complete list of Pulitzer Prize winners.



Literature and Poetry


  • Monster Librarian

    Reviews of horror fiction, author interviews, new releases, and horror book news.

Young Adults

  • Reading Rants

    Out of the ordinary booklists for teens.


    Fun site for teens that includes author interviews, reading lists, contests and more.


  • Stop, You're Killing Me!

    Features title lists of your favorite mystery, intrigue and suspense authors and series characters.


Back to Top of Page | Back to Selected Website Listings