Books & Reading
Research Databases
Research databases | Selected Websites
-
3M Cloud Library
eBooks from 3M Cloud Library can be downloaded to your computer, e-book reader or mobile device.
-
Dear Reader
An online book club that delivers a quick five minute read to any email address in the following categories: fiction, romance, mystery, science fiction, pre-publication, teen, good news, classics, thriller and author buzz.
**All that's needed is an email address to get started**
-
EBSCO eBooks
An ebook collection that includes thousands of titles on a wide variety of subjects, including business and management, computers and technology, and literature.
-
Electronic Books
An index of records for more than 665,000 ebooks that have been cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including titles from NetLibrary and other providers.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of full text reference sources in ebook format in the areas of business, careers, US and world history, humanities, science, sports, and the world.
-
Literature Resource Center
A resource that includes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
-
Minnesota Library Information Network (MnLINK)
A catalog of books and other materials held in public and academic libraries across Minnesota.
-
Next Reads
An email newsletter subscription service that provides reading suggestions in 21 reading interest categories. Fiction and nonfiction are included as well as teen titles.
-
Novelist K-8 Plus
A comprehensive online readers' advisory tool designed especially for elementary and middle school students with fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support the school curriculum, as well as the pleasure reading needs of students.
-
Novelist Plus
A comprehensive online readers' advisory tool that allows you to search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and readable nonfiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more.
Selected Websites
Research databases | Selected Websites
Multicultural
-
African-American authors
A listing of over 800 African-American authors or authors and their work.
Romance
-
All About Romance
Book reviews, book lists, message boards and more for lovers of romantic fiction.
-
Romantic Times Book Club
Magazine for lovers of romance, mystery & women's fiction featuring news, reviews and interviews.
-
The Romance Reader
Thousands of candid book reviews for lovers of romantic fiction. Also features author interviews, news and much more.
General Sites
-
All Readers
Detailed book reviews from all genres searchable by plot, style, character, and setting.
-
Book Page
Monthly publication offering interviews with favorite authors, book reviews in all categories, and book news.
-
BookBrowse
Excerpts, reviews and more from the best current books.
-
BookSpot
Well-organized links to the best book reviews, reading lists, awards, news, online texts, and more.
-
IndieBound
Features lists of independent bookseller-recommended favorite handsells and bestseller lists. Formerly BookSense.
-
Morton Grove Public Library Reading Lists
Great collection of reading recommendations from the well-known online discussion group Fiction-L.
-
Overbooked
Book list, author information and web links specializing in literary and genre fiction.
Children's
-
ATN (All Together Now) Book Lists
A copious number of book lists for children, grouped by genre, theme, values and more.
-
Caldecott Medal Winners
Listing of Caldecott Winners, an award given to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
-
Kids' Booklists
A group of booklists grouped by school grade (maintained by Multnomah County Library).
-
Lexile Framework for Reading
Search tens of thousands of titles for their Lexile measure or search by Lexile measure.
-
Newbery Medal Winners
Listing of the Newbery Medal award winners, an award given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Movies
-
Based On The Book
Mid-Continent Public Library's 'Based on the Book' is a compilation of over 1,250 books, novels, short stories, and plays that have been made into motion pictures.
Book Groups/Book Discussions
-
Book Club Girl
Dedicated to sharing tips, news and great books with book club and reading group members everywhere.
-
Oprah's Book Club and Books
Interviews, reviews, book discussions and a list of the titles from Oprah's Book Club.
-
Reading Group Choices
Features recommendations and guides for book groups.
-
Reading Group Guides
Online community for reading groups that includes reading guides and advice.
Book News
-
BookReporter.com
Author profiles, book reviews, feature articles, book quizzes, contests and a free weekly newsletter. Check out the Coming Soon section for info on new releases.
-
Publishers Weekly
News, reviews and the latest in book and publishing news.
Inspirational Fiction
-
Christian Fiction at Christianbook.com
Find Christian fiction by genre, category and authors. Includes a blog on Christian fiction.
-
FaithfulReader.com
Interviews, excerpts, new releases, author sites, awards, and study guides for readers of inspirational fiction and non-fiction.
-
The Christy Awards
Awards for the best in contemporary Christian fiction.
Science Fiction/Fantasy
-
Fantastic Fiction
Bibliographies, links and more for over 6,000 science fiction, fantasy and horror authors.
-
Locus Online
Features news, reviews, resources, and perspectives of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Includes the Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards
-
SF Site
Book reviews, opinion pieces, author interviews, fiction excerpts, and links to all things SF.
Social Networking for Readers
-
Good Reads
Members recommend books, compare what they are reading, keep track of what they've read and would like to read, form book clubs and much more.
-
Librarything.com
Catalog your books online. Connect with other readers for recommendations and discussion!
Award Winners
-
Great Books List
Collection of Great Books lists--authoritative attempts to list the group of books consistently rated as great by readers and critics down through the generations.
-
Pulitzer Prize winners
Complete list of Pulitzer Prize winners.
Historical Fiction
-
Histfiction.net
Guide to historical fiction, including author information, book lists and resources.
Bestsellers
-
Indie Bestsellers IndieBound
Reported weekly by independent booksellers across America.
-
New York Times Bestseller Lists
The top bestsellers at a glance, with links to the full lists.
-
USA Today Bestselling Books Database
The week's 150 top selling titles in fiction and non-fiction.
Series
-
Juvenile Series and Sequels (Mid-Continent Public Library)
Series listings for juvenile and young adult fiction.
-
What's Next
List of series and sequels searchable by title, author and series (maintained by Kent District Library).
Literature and Poetry
-
Literary Criticism from IPL
Contains critical and biographical web sites about authors and their works. Browse by author, title, or nationality and/or literary period.
-
Poets.org (The Academy of American Poets)
Hundreds of full-text poems, biographies, essays and interviews about poetry, and audio clips of authors reading their work.
Horror
-
Monster Librarian
Reviews of horror fiction, author interviews, new releases, and horror book news.
Young Adults
-
Reading Rants
Out of the ordinary booklists for teens.
-
Teenreads.com
Fun site for teens that includes author interviews, reading lists, contests and more.
Mystery
-
Stop, You're Killing Me!
Features title lists of your favorite mystery, intrigue and suspense authors and series characters.
-
The Mystery Reader
Thousands of book reviews in a variety of mystery subgenres, features, author interviews and much more.
Westerns
-
Western Writers of America
Includes list of Spur Award winners, author interviews and Best Westerns of the 20th Century list.


















